Graphics Explained?

Discuss more technical topics here
DragonH

Graphics Explained?

Postby DragonH » Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:09 pm

I'm not an expert on this, but i spent my last hour restarting and restarting each race just to see how it impacts the FPS in my races.
From post processing HIGH, to Medium, to Low etc
Eventhough idk what the hell means post processing? but hey, i bet there's someone who can explain that impact of each grapic option and in wich feature it impacts the most, for example:

TEXTURE QUALITY impacts more the GPU
Post Processing impacts more.......

And can you guys explain each other what means?

Post Processing is the particles flying and shining?

Thanks in advance.

potterman28wxcv
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6

Re: Graphics Explained?

Postby potterman28wxcv » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:35 am

DragonH wrote:I'm not an expert on this, but i spent my last hour restarting and restarting each race just to see how it impacts the FPS in my races.
Eventhough idk what the hell means post processing? but hey, i bet there's someone who can explain that impact of each grapic option and in wich feature it impacts the most, for example:

Thanks in advance.

Moving this to Technical & Hardware

Also : google is your friend, i mean really
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ambient_occlusion
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Post-processing
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texture_filtering

Every option affects the GPU. The CPU is (I believe) not involved at all, except maybe for collision detection and technical stuff like this. But everything that is about rendering (which is all the options basically) are done by the GPU afaik.

As for how much one feature impacts the FPS in-race, you can do some trial. These settings are not only in Grip, they are in a lot of games too. Just for personal culture, it's useful to experiment by yourself.
Because I'm even more boring than Broscar -> Rules of the GRIP forum