Page 1 of 1

issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:40 am
by castortroy
Hey there,

this is my first post so hopefully i chose the correct discussion board :)

I bought the game this week and am facing issues regarding gamepad setup:
* When I startup the game and enter the controls menu I am not able to change the controls to any gamepad-input. Controls for keyboard can be changed though
* The existing mapping of controls to the gamepad keys does not work in-game, input by gamepad is ignored

I tried 2 different gamepads (an old MS Sidewinder and a new 3rd party Dualshock ) that both were properly connected and - in terms of software / driver - installed in Win 10. I double-checked it via gamecontroller setup and calibration. My currently connected gamepad works with Trackmania so for me it seems to be a problem with grip.

My only way of controlling the car right now is by keyboard. Maybe I am missing sth. and the gamepad support is not yet implemented?
I have searched the forum but was not able to confirm this guess. So please help me out, guys.

Thanks in advance
Castor

PS: Sorry for bad language, non-native.

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:26 pm
by Broscar
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=3464&p=13977
GRIP doesn't support DirectInput right now. You need something that converts them to use Xinput.
You can use this piece of software to use your Dualshock 3 controller as it was a Xbox360 controller, which will work for GRIP.

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:24 pm
by TheOnLY
Steam might (not sure!) also support warpping to XInput as they updated their steam controller configurator to support almost every controller now.. You will probably need to run Steam in Big Picture to configure it though.

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:06 pm
by Cornkid
Welcome to the forum, a friendlier community you will not find....

Failing either of the above suggestions working, I would recommend "joy2key" which emulates keyboard strokes.

available here :- http://joytokey.net/en/

It means Gas/Brake will be digital (full on/full off) but some dual shock controllers offer "analog" which are pressure sensitive buttons, it would be helpful to know which controller model you are using.

Good luck setting it up, post back if you need further help ;)

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:57 pm
by castortroy
Thanks for the welcome and the advices, I will try those out!

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 6:50 pm
by castortroy
JoytoKey works fine, thank you all for your help...i am getting flashed :)

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:31 am
by Cornkid
Glad you got it sorted, enjoy ;)

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:15 pm
by Chris_CE
Thanks Cornkid, as usual

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:12 pm
by DriftRacer14
I use x360ce for my SteelSeries 3GC and my Logitech F310. The F310 was working fine on its own thanks to the DirectInput/XInput toggle switch, but the SteelSeries 3GC is DirectInput only, so I looked around, found x360ce, and got my SteelSeries working, but then my F310 stopped working so I had to configure IT in x360ce as well so I could use both gamepads in split screen. I've got one small caveat with this whole setup, though.
The 3GC offers Force Feedback, which I can't get working. :?
I'm still fiddling with it but so far no dice on that issue.
:?: Am I doing something wrong, or is Force Feedback not even supported yet and I'm just wasting my time trying? :?:

Re: issues setting up gamepad

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:21 am
by Chris_CE
Force feedback should work, as we have rumble options in the menu.

Not sure why it would stop suddenly. That said, we'll have controller support for many models later in time