Grip won't start

Post any bugs here that you experience with running GRIP.

Please USE OUR BUG REPORTING TEMPLATE, or your thread might be reformatted or removed.
jono878
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 7:41 am

Grip won't start

Postby jono878 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 7:47 am

Hi

It won't start through steam. just shows preparing to run grip and disappears and nothing happens.

So far
Tried running from desktop shortcut
Updated drivers
updated GeForce experience
Doesn't seem to show up in processes when you run it.

Thanks

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Grip won't start

Postby Chris_CE » Wed Jan 04, 2017 8:35 am

hi Jono, sorry to hear you can't get it running.

Are you running a 64bit Windows?

Do you have anti-virus software? What kind?

Try verifying the cache through Steam (right click Grip, properties)

Can you take a look at this thread here for possible solutions in the meantime: http://steamcommunity.com/app/396900/di ... 328162235/
Game Director
GRIP

User avatar
Falkerz
Early Supporter 4
Early Supporter 4
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: Grip won't start

Postby Falkerz » Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:01 am

Might also be worth clearing out any dependency files that are trying to be executed, so that they either get skipped / re-downloaded.


TikiONE is pretty useful for this, and gives you granular control over what you do / don't remove. Doesn't damage anything, as things that are needed just get re-downloaded by Steam. Good for freeing up space on SSDs. http://jonathanlermitage.github.io/tiki ... m-cleaner/
"Tired are we, the few who battle endlessly, against the never ceasing sound, of inevitability..."

jono878
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 7:41 am

Re: Grip won't start

Postby jono878 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:01 am

Hi Chris

yep on windows 8.1 64bit.
Not running any anti-virus at the time
Cache seems to be fine.

I'll take another look at that link.

Dependency files not sure what you mean by that? do you mean delete the whole game and re-download?

Thanks

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Grip won't start

Postby Chris_CE » Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:03 am

I suggest wiping the game and redownloading, yea.

Also make sure that you see a dialog saying "installing U" upon trying to play the first time. If it doesn't say that, navigate to "\Grip\Engine\Extras\Redist\en-us" and run "UE4PrereqSetup_x64.exe". Then try

Let me know if that works
Game Director
GRIP

jono878
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 7:41 am

Re: Grip won't start

Postby jono878 » Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:10 am

Got it working in the end. Upgraded to windows 10 which sorted it. Might of been down to MS 2015 runtime ++ visual not installing incorrectly.

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Grip won't start

Postby Chris_CE » Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:10 pm

Possibly. Glad it's working!
Game Director
GRIP


Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron