"Grip has stopped working" error

Post here regarding any crashes you experience when running or trying to run GRIP

Please USE OUR CRASH REPORTING TEMPLATE, or your thread might be reformatted or removed.
Redral
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:31 am

"Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Redral » Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:41 am

When does this happen : while launching the game

On which track did it happen : n/a

How often does this happen : Always

How to replicate the steps (if reproducible) :

More details :

I just bought this game today and downloaded it after a few hours. Then when I tried to launch the game, after the "Installing U" stage, it automatically appeared a error says "Grip has stopped working". I closed it, launched it again and the same error happened to me.

Your specs :
- Mainboard : GIGABYTE B85M-D3V-A
- CPU : CORE I5-4460 (3.2 Hz)
- RAM : DDR3 G.SKILL 8GB (2400) - F3-2400C11D-8GXM (2x4GB)
- VGA : ASUS 4GB STRIX GTX960-DC2OC-4GD5
- HDD : 500GB
- POWER: CM 500W THUNDER
- Monitor: LCD DELL 21.5" E2215HV

Any screenshot, or link to a video showing the bug :
I think you don't need it since it just shows the error box says: Grip has stopped working.

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Broscar » Sat Feb 06, 2016 1:15 pm

OS?

You've probably rebooted by now, but if you haven't yet, give it a try. Fixed it for at least one other person I know of.

Redral
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:31 am

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Redral » Sat Feb 06, 2016 7:13 pm

Broscar wrote:OS?

You've probably rebooted by now, but if you haven't yet, give it a try. Fixed it for at least one other person I know of.

I'm using WIn 7 64 bit

What do you mean about rebooting? Do I need to reboot my computer or the game?

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Broscar » Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:25 pm

Your computer. Guess that has already happened though ;p

Can you fire up "<YOUR STEAM DIRECTORY>\steamapps\common\Grip\Engine\Extras\Redist\en-us\UE4PrereqSetup_x64.exe" and try running the game after that has finished?

Redral
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:31 am

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Redral » Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:42 am

Broscar wrote:Your computer. Guess that has already happened though ;p

Can you fire up "<YOUR STEAM DIRECTORY>\steamapps\common\Grip\Engine\Extras\Redist\en-us\UE4PrereqSetup_x64.exe" and try running the game after that has finished?


Sorry for the late reply. I did like what you said but it still doesn't work.

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Broscar » Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:44 pm

Does the error message say anything specific? Can you take a screenshot of it?
Also, would you mind posting your dxdiag here or uploading the txt file somewhere?

Redral
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:31 am

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Redral » Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:09 pm

Here you go:

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Broscar » Sun Feb 14, 2016 3:47 pm

Hey man, I meant the text file you get when you click on "Save All Information..." :p

Considering I have to do without, I'm just gonna throw possible solutions at you, hoping one of them works.
  • Install this, reboot, then try running GRIP again. Make sure you install both the 32-bit and the 64-bit versions.
  • Quit every program which might interfere with GRIP. (Anti-virus, Razer Gamebooster, Xfire, whatever)
  • Reinstall Nvidia Geforce Experience.


PS: Press ALT + Print Screen to take a screenshot of only the active window

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Chris_CE » Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:43 pm

Sorry Redral, we haven't forgotten about this. Just a strange crash that no one else seems to be having
Game Director
GRIP

User avatar
Ryu Makkuro
Posts: 390
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:46 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Ryu Makkuro » Thu Feb 25, 2016 4:47 pm

Try changing the refresh rate of your monitor. You never know it may just be the thing that will allow you to launch the game, at least it's what I have to do.
Image

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: "Grip has stopped working" error

Postby Chris_CE » Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:35 pm

Do you have Win 7 Service Pack 1 installed?
Game Director
GRIP


Return to “Crash Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron