Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Here you give us specific suggestions on how you think the private release can be improved.

This isn't for bug reports, this is for features (example: wrong way indicator)
TheOnLY
Early Supporter 4
Early Supporter 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 11:23 am

Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby TheOnLY » Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:53 pm

Having shields sucks, since you cant just waste them like you can do with other power-ups. They block the slot until they are destroyed. Once you have two of them, they each block a power-up slot and an active shield forces you to take damage to "remove" it which is really not what you want whenyoui want to drive decent laptimes. :twisted:
This happened to me a few times already and got me stuck with two shields for a few rounds or even until finish. :(

Leewise
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 12:06 am

Re: Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby Leewise » Mon Dec 07, 2015 8:27 pm

Totally agree, I remember the RC mechanic was such that when you used a shield that slot instantly became empty allowing for another pick-up. I instinctively started playing Grip with that mechanic in mind and if I don't need the shield I usually activate it just before another pick-up to get something else. I'm wondering if the Grip way was implemented for balance reasons? Maybe a "throw away item" button could be the answer if the new mechanic is necessary for balance... but then that alone would open up a lot more tactical possibilities e.g. someone in front who keeps dumping items before a pick-up so the car behind doesn't get anything. So then you would have to ask should the dumped item be left on the track for others to get, which would solve that issue but in turn open up more tactical possibilities, and so on.

Yrch
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:04 pm

Re: Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby Yrch » Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:03 am

dont forget that as of now, there are hardly any weapons that damage the shield so you will either losse it due to collision or a lucky hit from a rocket.
judging if the shield should block your slot or not should be done once all weapons are in and the shields lifespan will be way shorter ;)

TheOnLY
Early Supporter 4
Early Supporter 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 11:23 am

Re: Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby TheOnLY » Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:34 am

Yeah but what happens when you are last and get 2 Shields? Nobody will ever be shooting at you. I just want to be able to waste it

Yrch
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:04 pm

Re: Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby Yrch » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:44 am

dont get last then :P

there are discussion about all that already.
powerup discard, balancing powerups depending on your position, being able to switch the shields position between front and back (to block mines and stuff) and im pretty sure its easy to implement that the RNG wont give you 2 shields.
so far i never had 2 shields at the same time, but rockets and machineguns.

at this point we dont know how powerfull the shield really is.
we will see once all weapons are in the game and maybe having a shield and 2 weapons ready will prove to be too powerfull, we'll see.

User avatar
Cybruiser57Péter
Early Supporter 4
Early Supporter 4
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 5:59 am
Location: Hungary, Budapest

Re: Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby Cybruiser57Péter » Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:18 am

Yes but how do you change it to front (when the devs. add that feature to the shield), because the original idea for the shield is that to you can change the direction where it's faceing (rear or front) by tapping the "use power 1 or 2" again.
Science WINS again!!!
Then they opened a portal to another dimension and kidnapping the locals.
The pissed locals are head enough and strike back.
and then... ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE :twisted:

Image

WROB3L
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:18 am
Location: Poland

Re: Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby WROB3L » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:25 am

Cybruiser57Péter wrote:Yes but how do you change it to front (when the devs. add that feature to the shield), because the original idea for the shield is that to you can change the direction where it's faceing (rear or front) by tapping the "use power 1 or 2" again.


Its not really original. Its mine xDDDD
FOR THE RAZIELIM!

And with a pot of F*ckedUppery
Powerful Cthulhu created me :twisted:

One of the first players in Image 3rd or 4th. I dont remember xD

User avatar
tjgcrush
#1 Tester
#1 Tester
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:09 pm
Location: The Eternal Highway
Contact:

Re: Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby tjgcrush » Tue Dec 08, 2015 12:09 pm

i can agree that this is somewhat an issue and it would be nice to have the one space open again same with the Nitro boost
And with his chrome V8 toys
Immortan Joe created the WarBoys
Image
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UIyRXvHmXxo
Image


User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [LISTED] Dont have shields block a power-up slot while active

Postby Chris_CE » Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:23 am

Agree. I'll bring this up with the team
Game Director
GRIP


Return to “Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron