[Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Please post any issues with the website or forums in here
psppwner300
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:16 am
Contact:

[Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby psppwner300 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:51 am

Logging in to the site with my Android tablet, there's no navigation bar on the top of the site. That means I can't check any of my messages or logout.

Anyone else notice this?

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Broscar » Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:02 pm

You don't get a 'hamburger menu' at the top right?

psppwner300
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby psppwner300 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:39 pm

Nope. No hamburger button either.

User avatar
wantfastcars
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:29 pm

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby wantfastcars » Fri Mar 18, 2016 2:37 am

Can confirm I get the same results on my Android phone and tablet.

I think Android Chrome is just doing a wonky this update, since it's been really weird and laggy on other sites, too.
Desktop: i5-3570k @ 4.6GHz, RX 480 8GB, 32GB DDR3-1600, Win 10 Pro
Laptop: i7-4720HQ @ 2.6GHz, GTX970m 6GB, 16GB DDR3-1600, Win 10 Home
Currently Playing: Gravity Rush 2, GRIP, Guilty Gear Xrd -REVELATOR- | http://i.imgur.com/FuDx2Un.jpg

psppwner300
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby psppwner300 » Fri Mar 18, 2016 6:49 am

I'm using Firefox.

User avatar
wantfastcars
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:29 pm

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby wantfastcars » Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:53 am

Maybe it is this website then.
Desktop: i5-3570k @ 4.6GHz, RX 480 8GB, 32GB DDR3-1600, Win 10 Pro
Laptop: i7-4720HQ @ 2.6GHz, GTX970m 6GB, 16GB DDR3-1600, Win 10 Home
Currently Playing: Gravity Rush 2, GRIP, Guilty Gear Xrd -REVELATOR- | http://i.imgur.com/FuDx2Un.jpg

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Broscar » Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:42 am

Edit: Damn, the css media rule which styles the mobile menu is a right mess.
I've written a new one and I'll bother Chris with updating it once the team gets back from GDC.

Thanks for the heads up.

Edit2: Would be neat if you guys could mention which device this happens on, so I can test specifically whether the new rule will fix the issue on your end.

psppwner300
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby psppwner300 » Tue Mar 22, 2016 2:50 pm

NVIDIA Shield K1

Similii
Early Supporter 4
Early Supporter 4
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:57 am

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Similii » Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:10 pm

Have this too on Asus Zenfone 2 (awesome phone btw)
If you want to be grammar nazi to me, just do it, that will improve my english :3

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Chris_CE » Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:51 pm

Got that CSS for me Broscar?
Game Director
GRIP

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Broscar » Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:40 pm

styles/WoWDraenor/theme/menu.css
Line #237

Replace:

Code: Select all

@media (max-width: 800px), only screen and (-webkit-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), not all, not all, not all, only screen and (max-width: 1024px) and (min-resolution: 192dpi), only screen and (max-width: 1024px) and (min-resolution: 2dppx) {

With:

Code: Select all

@media only screen and (max-width: 1024px) and (min-resolution: 144dpi), only screen and (max-width: 800) {


This should work with most devices, including tablets. Might have an exception or two, but then you're looking at pre-2009 devices, which you don't wanna browse the modern web with anyway.

User avatar
wantfastcars
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:29 pm

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby wantfastcars » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:55 pm

Motorola Droid Turbo II
Desktop: i5-3570k @ 4.6GHz, RX 480 8GB, 32GB DDR3-1600, Win 10 Pro
Laptop: i7-4720HQ @ 2.6GHz, GTX970m 6GB, 16GB DDR3-1600, Win 10 Home
Currently Playing: Gravity Rush 2, GRIP, Guilty Gear Xrd -REVELATOR- | http://i.imgur.com/FuDx2Un.jpg

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Chris_CE » Fri Apr 01, 2016 10:28 am

Broscar wrote:http://forum.cagedelement.com/styles/WoWDraenor/theme/menu.css
Line #237

Replace:

Code: Select all

@media (max-width: 800px), only screen and (-webkit-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), not all, not all, not all, only screen and (max-width: 1024px) and (min-resolution: 192dpi), only screen and (max-width: 1024px) and (min-resolution: 2dppx) {



Only line I see like that is on #473 and is:

Code: Select all

@media all and (max-width: 800px), only screen and (-webkit-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min--moz-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (-o-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2/1) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min-resolution: 192dpi) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min-resolution: 2dppx) and (max-width: 1024px) {
Game Director
GRIP

User avatar
potterman28wxcv
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 1285
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 12:20 pm
Location: Grenoble - France
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby potterman28wxcv » Fri Apr 01, 2016 9:38 pm

Chris_CE wrote:
Broscar wrote:http://forum.cagedelement.com/styles/WoWDraenor/theme/menu.css
Line #237

Replace:

Code: Select all

@media (max-width: 800px), only screen and (-webkit-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), not all, not all, not all, only screen and (max-width: 1024px) and (min-resolution: 192dpi), only screen and (max-width: 1024px) and (min-resolution: 2dppx) {



Only line I see like that is on #473 and is:

Code: Select all

@media all and (max-width: 800px), only screen and (-webkit-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min--moz-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (-o-min-device-pixel-ratio: 2/1) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min-device-pixel-ratio: 2) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min-resolution: 192dpi) and (max-width: 1024px), only screen and (min-resolution: 2dppx) and (max-width: 1024px) {


That's because you are miscounting the lines. Broscar has the right line - line #473 does not exist :P
Or maybe you are looking at a different .css than styles/WoWDraenor/theme/menu.css ?

Image
Because I'm even more boring than Broscar -> Rules of the GRIP forum
Check out the sign-ups for the Rollcage Neo-mode Tournament 2017, starting 15th April !

And with a rusty wrench
God created the french

Admin of the Image

User avatar
SuperLucas335
Early Supporter 3
Early Supporter 3
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 6:10 am
Location: Australia

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby SuperLucas335 » Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:08 am

I only get my navigation bar when the site has been maximised. If I have Chrome open in a smaller window the bar doesn't appear.

If it helps:
My screen resolution is 2736 x 1824
I increased the "size of text, apps and other items" by 200% (recommended)
I'm on a Surface Pro 4, which has Microsoft's take on Apple's Retina Display (pixels are 2x smaller)

It's nothing urgent - all I need to do is maximise the window. Hope this helps on the case!

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Broscar » Sat Apr 09, 2016 4:59 pm

Hey dude. The css hasn't been updated yet, but once the changes are in, the forum should be less eager to switch to mobile display for desktops and more eager to display it for mobile devices.
As you know, the Surface Pro 4 is a sorta inbetween thing. This mixed with the zoom options and the quite unflexible nature of phpbb3 means there's only so much we can do. It should be fine, but I'll PM you to check for feedback once the changes have been implemented.
(Could take some time. They're hard workers, but there's only so many people to share the workload with)

User avatar
Falkerz
Early Supporter 4
Early Supporter 4
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Falkerz » Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:45 pm

Was this ever addressed? Only, my iPhone 5S running Safari or Chrome, and my Lenovo Tab s8-50f running Chrome still have no menu bar...
"Tired are we, the few who battle endlessly, against the never ceasing sound, of inevitability..."

User avatar
Chris_CE
Grip Developer
Grip Developer
Posts: 2175
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Chris_CE » Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:27 pm

edited the stylesheet. Please let me know if that helps, guys
Game Director
GRIP

User avatar
Broscar
Early Supporter 6
Early Supporter 6
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Location: ur mom #shrekt
Contact:

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Broscar » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:26 pm

The conditions for having the mobile navigation bar pop up instead of the regular one are better, but the bar is still gone on (some) mobile browsers.
It's not related to the mobile-specific style rules, as it happens when you request the desktop site on mobile browsers as well. I'll try to track down what's going on, though any help with this would be neat, as it's a bit hit 'n miss to run Android browser debugging tools on Blackberry.

Edit: Was caused by new defaults set by both Chrome and Firefox which make it so that they refuse to proceed with any plain http requests if the site was loaded over https. This made it so that jquery was not loaded (and the theme maker wisely decided not to make a fallback for it), which as you all have probably figured out by now, was required to display the burger menu. I never ran into the issue because I was too stubborn to update my bookmark to the https version of the site :P

User avatar
Falkerz
Early Supporter 4
Early Supporter 4
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: [Mobile] No Navigation Bar

Postby Falkerz » Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:52 am

Broscar wrote:The conditions for having the mobile navigation bar pop up instead of the regular one are better, but the bar is still gone on (some) mobile browsers.
It's not related to the mobile-specific style rules, as it happens when you request the desktop site on mobile browsers as well. I'll try to track down what's going on, though any help with this would be neat, as it's a bit hit 'n miss to run Android browser debugging tools on Blackberry.

Edit: Was caused by new defaults set by both Chrome and Firefox which make it so that they refuse to proceed with any plain http requests if the site was loaded over https. This made it so that jquery was not loaded (and the theme maker wisely decided not to make a fallback for it), which as you all have probably figured out by now, was required to display the burger menu. I never ran into the issue because I was too stubborn to update my bookmark to the https version of the site :P


You da real MVP. I didn't actually spot I was requesting SSL when accessing the forums, but that certainly makes sense. Formatting is a bit skewed, but I'll settle for it instead of having to spend 5 minutes following difficult to find links in my profile, just to find my notifications feed.
"Tired are we, the few who battle endlessly, against the never ceasing sound, of inevitability..."


Return to “Grip Website & Forum Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 0 guests

cron